My Path

Over the course of a few months, ENG 111 has had a huge impact on me. This class taught me numerous concrete depths of understanding writing by using accurate, relevant, and well-organized critical thinking to produce a remarkable revision. In my analysis of Maus it took dedication, absolute effort, and most importantly, critical thinking; the research that was proposed was intriguing to the point of satisfaction, and in my opinion, was the most significant work that features this course that benefitted my development as a writer.

            Reading the book Maus, written by Art Spiegelman, and writing about Maus was completely two different perspectives. The knowledge Spiegelman offered in his book was constructed well but depicting one or a few panels took ample time and effort. This one of many tasks truly helped me develop concrete writing and reading skills. When I first began my analysis, there were a few things that popped out to me: The way Spiegelman perceived the Swastika flag and when I noticed it, it was quite distinctive, which furthermore my interest and perception. With the ideology that was picked from this, with a political standpoint, I decided to dive deep into this and write the analysis over these stand points. At first, it took dedication to depict these instances because they were shown in between the lines rather than shown visually. With this, it created a sense of critical thinking which furthered my enhancements of a writer and observer. Once I established the roots of this perception I could finally branch off into a lot of different reasoning and explanations to further my extent research of this matter. I pulled a lot of different sources via web or books into my analysis which helped show credibility with the analysis. Over the course of a few days I gathered more information before I started my revision. Once I felt confident with the information and heart-felt notes, I started my revision. At first, it was quite difficult because I did not know how to start it, but once I got the foundation of the paper the rest came at ease. Over the next several days I developed my revision and finished with ample satisfaction. I received a grade I was more then happy with which motivated me to become better. The revision was only around 600 words, but I believe it was a great short essay.

            With this revision, this truly helped me become a better writer and research throughout my time in ENG 111. The class has taught me many things and very grateful for it, with my professor guiding me, to coming to class on days that were not required. I firmly believe that my time in ENG 111 has truly abled me to become a better student overall, it taught me discipline and reasoning and a short love of writing. I am extremely excited for the coming years at GTCC and my future college which will hopefully be at UNCW. This class has let me establish the roots of writing which will furthermore my writing career as a college student. Thank you for helping me Dr. Lucas!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started